(1 viewing) (1) Guest
NASA California North Region Website

nasanorcal.com/
  • Page:

TOPIC: Newbie wannabe: Steering/ or rental

Newbie wannabe: Steering/ or rental 15 years, 2 months ago #3886

• Otimo
  • Drivers Ed
Hi, I'm finishing my 1983 NA for Infineon Mar 21-22, but for HDPE 1 as I am new to this.

I'm hoping to be ready by Sat.

The car is bone stock 1983 w/manual steering and is my daily driver. So...I still have that notorious high speed shimmy. I've replaced the outer tie rod ends and the inner ones may be loose. Or maybe the rack.

Q1: Does the P/S Rack have less turns lock to lock? I'd like to switch this out if so.
Q2: Any other advice on fixing the front wheel shimmy. I have read about having to balance the wheels and check for out of round on the tires. This will be next after the inner tie rod ends.
Q3: Likely I may not resolve this before the weekend. I'd appreciate advice on where to rent a race car. Any variety except it has to have a pass seat as I'm doing HDPE.

Thanks, Hope to join 944 spec someday soon.

Re:Newbie wannabe: Steering/ or rental 15 years, 2 months ago #3889

• rlofgren
  • Seasoned Racer
'notorious high speed shimmy'? I am not aware that this is a common thing with 944. I have an '83 944 that i have been time-trialing and racing since 1992. i think i still have the original steering rack on it. the whole car does shake a bit more at high speed than low speed, but it's not too bad.
what happens when you drive your car on the highway? bad steering wheel wobble?

i would still come to infineon for the weekend and you can get somebody to look at your car. also if you are doing hpde 1, the stresses on the car shouldn't be too great. there will be 6-7 of us 944 guys there that can take a look/test drive out on the highway.
944-SPEC #30 Norcal 2010 Champion
944-SPEC #23 non sunroof
1990 944 S2 street
2003 Mini Cooper S
Lofgren Construction
leafbranch.com/

Re:Newbie wannabe: Steering/ or rental 15 years, 2 months ago #3890