(1 viewing) (1) Guest
NASA California South Region Website

nasasocal.com/
  • Page:

TOPIC: Drops for next year

Drops for next year 14 years, 6 months ago #5877

• Big Dog
  • Banned
To get the discussion started, it seems to me that the number of drops should be enough to take out Nationals and any "out of area" races like Phoenix this year. After allowing for those drops, there should be at least 2 additional drops allowed for a broken car, family stuff, etc. If not, if a guy misses even one race early, there is no way to compete for the championship and so, less reason to try hard to make races.

I know that was my situation in Arizona so I didn't go to as many races there as I usually do.

Big Dog
Jim Foxx

Re:Drops for next year 14 years, 6 months ago #5903

• cbuzzetti
  • Endurance Racer
  • 944 Spec = The best racing on the planet
I am not a huge proponent of drops and would like to see it held to two for family or personal reasons.

A big part of racing to me is car prep. Knowing that you prepared your car well and did your best to avoid breakdowns is rewarded with a points system.

By increasing the drops you reduce car counts since people do not have to be there to protect what they earned (points)

Just some ideas.
2018 NASA 944Spec National Champ
2018 NASA ST5 P2 944 Nationals COTA
2017 NASA 944Spec WSC P3
2016 NASA PTD-944 WSC P2
2015 NASA GTS1 Western Champion
2014 NASA 944Spec Western Champion
2013 NASA 944Spec So-Cal Regional Champion
2013 NASA 944Spec National P3
2010 NASA GTS-1 National Champion
2010 NASA 944Spec National P3
2010 NASA So-Cal 944Spec Regional Champion
2009 NASA 944Spec National Champion

Re:Drops for next year 14 years, 6 months ago #5912

• Big Dog
  • Banned
Just what I proposed except that any "out of area" races, like the one last year in Phoenix and the National race would also be able to be dropped so guys that can't afford the money or time are not at a disavantage.